Recently in the kitchen at Bernstein …
… Cooking and of course having fun and a good time together – this is our life in the agency’s kitchen, and we love it. Working together with a community called Über den Tellerrand (Outside the Box), we decided to take this idea one step further. So for a year now we’ve been cooking food together with people who’ve come to our country from all over the world. This has led to some fabulous relationships and also a cookery book with many delicious recipes and exciting stories. If you’re beginning to develop a taste for it, do please join us at the Bernstein Kitchen. Let’s have a great meal.

Amara, now 35, came to Germany from Ivory Coast in 2004. He works, among other things, as an interpreter at the Versöhnungskirche Shelter, run by the German Protestant Home Mission in Sebaldsbrück. His aim is to bring together different cultures on a culinary level.

Mojeeb fled from Afghanistan to Germany in January 2016, together with his parents and two siblings. The family eventually found a new home in Bremen. His favourite German food is black bread.

Tomás, who is Argentinian, landed in Frankfurt in August 2010, to find out more about his grandfather’s native country. At the time fruit was a non-starter for him. Instead, he preferred kebabs. Being a creative all-rounder, he now works for Bernstein and is looking forward to the birth of his second child.

Safwan came to Bremen with his brother in November 2014. He met his girlfriend Dagmara while he was staying at the hostel in Überseestadt. Safwan now works for the German Protestant Home Mission, and he takes great pleasure in food.

Amara Comara came to Germany from Ivory Coast in 2004 and has since spent most of his time in Bremen. His parents and sisters still live in Ivory Coast, while his brother now lives in Hanover. Amara is often in touch with his family and visits them regularly. The 35-year-old has been working for the Inner Mission in Sebaldsbrück at the emergency shelter run by the church there. He works there as a translator and takes care of any issues so that the residents can find their way in German society more easily.

What were your early days like in Germany?

Thankfully, I came to Germany in the summer when it wasn’t so cold. At first, I felt very alone, and the foreign language and culture were the toughest obstacles for me to overcome.

What do you particularly like about Germany?

Everything’s so green here with so many trees, plants and lawns. Then there’s the feeling of safety that you can just walk around here without having to feel scared. I also like the healthcare system: you pay your contributions, you can go to the doctor when you’re ill and you receive good treatment wherever you go.

What is your favourite food in Germany?

I don’t really have a favourite. I’ve already tried lots of things: gratins, potatoes and potato salad, bratwurst, red cabbage and kale. I liked everything, but I haven’t found my favourite yet.

What traditions do you have in your home country in terms of food?

Food is very important to us. If there’s something to celebrate, then we really make the most of it to cook lots of different foods in large quantities. For example, plantains with grilled fish. There’s fruit and vegetables in almost every dish. I really like avocados and coconuts.

What is your biggest wish for the future?

I wish for a more balanced world – both in terms of politics and in other areas. Everyone should be able to live in peace and have enough to eat.

What are you proud of?

My family. My parents and my sisters.

What do you aim for in life?

I like what I do, but I would like to be able to organise projects later and bring raw materials from Africa to Germany for them to be processed here. By doing that, I might be able to bring the different cultures closer together. Cocoa and coffee are already popular exports to Germany, but there are also other, less well-known products.

Cook the rice according to the instructions on the packet, along with some curry powder. Peel and finely chop the onions. Peel and finely dice the carrots. Wash the fish in cold water, dry it with paper towels and cut into 2 cm pieces. Simmer the onions, garlic and carrots with tomato puree and a little oil for 20 minutes until the carrots are soft, then add the peanut butter (diluted first with 500 ml water).

Fry the fish pieces in a little oil in another frying pan. Season the sauce and fish well with salt, cayenne pepper and black pepper.

Serves 4:
  • 250 ml peanut butter (possibly
    with a high peanut content)
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 medium-sized onions
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 250 g pollack fillet
  • 500 ml water
  • 400 g rice
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 3 tbsp tomato puree
  • Curry powder
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Freshly ground salt and pepper

Knead together the flour, fresh yeast, salt, lukewarm water and rapeseed oil to make a dough. Cover the dough and allow to rise for 60 minutes at room temperature.

Peel the potatoes and boil in salted water. Then drain the potatoes and mash them. Slice the spring onions and stir them into the mashed potatoes. Add 2 tsp pepper and 1/2 tsp turmeric to the potato mixture.

Divide the dough into eight or nine pieces. Roll each piece of dough out into a circle about 20 to 25 cm across. Spoon a little of the filling onto half of the dough circle, fold together and press the edges together using a fork.

Heat plenty of oil in a large frying pan and fry the filled parcels individually. Turn the parcels several times while frying.

Serves 4:
  • 550 g flour
  • 1 cube fresh yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 250 ml water, lukewarm
  • 5 tbsp rapeseed oil

For the filling:
  • 9 potatoes
  • 10 spring onions
  • 2 tsp ground pepper
  • 600 ml rapeseed oil for frying
  • ½ tsp turmeric

Mojeeb’s father Majid is a pharmacist. He had a shop in Kabul and the family had their own house and car. But precisely because of these things, they feared hold-ups and kidnappings – which had already happened to too many of their friends and acquaintances. Majid Hashimi, his wife Zottra and their children Mojeeb, Zamzam (14) and Zahid (7) sold everything and fled Afghanistan for Germany in January 2016. The family got their own flat in Bremen in autumn 2016 and have started making a new home for themselves in Germany.

What was your first experience in Germany?

Just inside the border, I asked where the nearest station was. Although I couldn’t speak any German yet, I felt so much rejection in people’s reactions to me – they just didn’t want us here. The more German I learned, the more open people became.

What do you particularly like about Germany?

The fact that it is safe for my brother, my sister and I to go to school. My sister and I get the tram every morning from Tenever to Walle. We don’t mind the long journey – we’re just glad we don’t have to be afraid.

What is your favourite food in Germany?

For me, it’s dark rye bread, which I take with me in my lunch box to school every day. I also like chicken breast, potato salad and chips.

What traditions do you have in Afghanistan in terms of food?

At the end of the week, my uncles, aunts, cousins and friends would all get together at our house and we would cook simple dishes like bolani. The main thing was that we were all together. We are so happy that we now have our own flat and can invite my aunt and cousins over, who live in Hamburg. I really look forward to that!

What is your biggest wish for the future?

We really hope that we can stay in Germany. I just can’t imagine having to go back to Kabul and living in fear again. (Editorial supplement: His current residence permit is valid for the next three years.)

What are you proud of?

I am proud of my family and myself for having made it here and that we now all live together in Bremen.

What do you aim for in life?

I really want to work for the police later in life, just like my cousin in Hamburg. Working to help ensure people’s safety would be my way of giving something back to Germany.

Tomás de Vries arrived at Frankfurt Airport in August 2010. ‘Let’s see how long my money can last’ was his motto. He simply wanted to get to know the country that had been home to his grandfather, who fled to Argentina from East Frisia in 1935. Tomás didn’t speak any German, but the graphic designer submitted his portfolio as an application and ended up with a job at a Hamburg agency. He learned German out and about in his neighbourhood and met his wife Rieke when couch-surfing in Bremen. Today, Tomás works for Bernstein as a creative all-rounder, as he likes to call himself. He lives with his wife Rieke and daughter Malena in Bremen, and the couple is looking forward to the birth of their second child.

What were your early days like in Germany?

I was absolutely convinced that there wouldn’t be any fruit in Germany and I ceremoniously got my last banana out of my rucksack at Frankfurt Airport and ate it. Right after that, I was of course surprised at how many different types of fruit there were – some of them I didn’t even know!

What do you particularly like about Germany?

There’s a very strong sense of community. People don’t just think of themselves but also think for others. That’s reflected in German politics, too: the government is made up of a coalition, which is something that would be unthinkable in Argentina.

What is your favourite food in Germany?

Doner kebab.

What traditions do you have in your home country in terms of food?

We always eat a hot meal at night in Argentina, but just a salad or sandwich for lunch. I’m not keen on the light evening meal that people have in Germany. My wife and I cook together every night and take the time to talk and eat together – that’s very important to us.

What is your biggest wish for the future?

To continue to be happy in the future with my family. My parents, brothers and sisters still live in Buenos Aires – we visit each other from time to time – but of course it would be great if they could live here, too. My brother is planning on coming to Germany once he’s finished studying.

What are you proud of?

That’s a tough one. Maybe ‘proud’ isn’t the right word but I’m really happy that people here like me how I am. I often have the feeling that there is a give and take here – and I like that.

What do you aim for in life?

I absolutely want to stay here in Germany. We will be having our second child soon, and I would like to be able to buy a house here for my family.

Put flour and lard in a bowl, knead together well and add one ladleful of stock at a time until it forms a stiff mixture. Then cut out circles of dough measuring about 15 cm for the empanadas.

Meat filling

Finely dice the peppers and onion, heat the lard in a frying pan. Fry the minced beef and stir in the peppers and onion. When the onions are starting to turn golden, season well with stock, salt, oregano, caraway and paprika. Leave to cool for 12 hours. Chop the hard-boiled eggs and add to the olives. Spoon a little filling onto each half of the empanada dough. Paint the edges with cold water and seal by folding the two halves together. Press the edge together with a fork. Brush the empanadas with egg yolk and bake at 250°C for approx. 20 minutes until golden brown.

Makes 20:
  • 750 g flour
  • 250 g lard
  • Vegetable stock
  • 1 tsp salt
For the filling:
  • 500 g beef mince
  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 red onions
  • 1 tbsp lard
  • 1 tbsp paprika powder (noble sweet)
  • 1 tsp salt, oregano, caraway
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • ½ cup olives
  • 1 ladleful stock
  • 3 hard-boiled eggs

Preheat the oven to 200°C. Slice the aubergines lengthways, place them on a baking tray with the cut surface facing up and bake them in a preheated oven for around 30 minutes until they are soft and dark brown. Meanwhile, puree together the garlic, basil and chillies. Use a spoon to remove the baked aubergine flesh from the skins and, using a mixer or a stick blender, mix with the garlic, basil and chillies; then spoon into a bowl. Finally, stir in the tahini, lemon juice and salt, garnish with mint and drizzle with olive oil.

Fried aubergines (side dish)

Slice aubergines into rounds around 0.5 cm thick. Beat egg white until foamy and mix with a little cornflour, salt, pepper and herbs. Heat oil in a frying pan, dip the aubergine slices in the egg white mixture first, then dip in the herb mixture and fry for a few minutes until they are golden brown. Drain the fried aubergines in a sieve or on kitchen paper.

Serves 4:
  • 4 aubergines
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 10 g basil
  • 2 green chillies
  • 60 g tahini
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 sprig mint
  • 1 tsp olive oil

Safwan Karkutli came to Bremen with his brother in November 2014, where the temporary housing unit in Überseestadt had just opened its doors. That’s where Safwan met his girlfriend, Dagmara. Safwan did translations for the other residents from Arabic into English, while Dagmara then translated from English into German. In February 2015, Safwan moved into his own flat and today he works for the Inner Mission as a mentor and cultural adviser. Dagmara and Safwan now live together and their daughter, Natalie, was born in July 2016.

What was your first experience in Germany?

I met Dagmara on my second day in Bremen. She worked for the Inner Mission in the temporary housing unit. We liked each other straight away and found out that my birthday is on 8 December and hers is the next day. We arranged to meet up for a walk for our birthdays – and then we fell in love!

What do you particularly like about Germany?

Until 2011, we lived in safety in Syria – and then everything changed. I am so thankful that we can live in safety here in Germany, and that there are laws here that are respected. That also gives you freedom. As long as people don’t break the law, they are free to say and do what they please.

What is your favourite food in Germany?

We ate beef roulades, potatoes and red cabbage in a restaurant once, and I really liked that! But I don’t like bread rolls at all.

What traditions do you have in Syria in terms of food?

For me, food means joy. I like thinking about food and what I want to cook. I like almost all Syrian dishes – we like to use lots of oil and garlic. My favourite dishes are ones that include aubergines. Sometimes I can’t remember the recipe or the ingredients – then I call my mum in Damascus and ask her.

What is your biggest wish for the future?

I just hope that Dagmara, our daughter and I can continue to live a completely normal, peaceful life in safety.

What are you proud of?

I am proud of overcoming my nightmares and that I can almost sleep normally again. In the early days, I thought that I would never be able to forget the sound of bombs falling at night. But I managed it. It’s also thanks to Dagmara that I can think about completely normal things again. I am so happy that we have found each other.

What do you aim for in life?

I studied civil engineering in Damascus and then worked as an engineer. Today, I’m at the Inner Mission and I enjoy working there. But I do hope that I will one day be able to work as a civil engineer in Germany.

Neulich bei Bernstein in der Küche …
... kochen, Spaß haben und zum Schluss, gemeinsam genießen – etwas, dass wir in unserer Agentur-Kküche leben und lieben. In Kooperation mit der „Über den Tellerrand Community“ haben wir diesen Gedanken weitergedacht: Seit einem Jahr kochen wir gemeinsam mit Menschen aus aller Welt, die in unser Land gekommen sind. Daraus sind nicht nur wunderbare Kontakte entstanden, sondern auch ein Kochbuch mit vielen leckeren Rezepten und spannenden Storys. Auf den Geschmack gekommen? Dann ab in die Bernstein-Küche. Guten Appetit!!!

Der heute 35-Jährige jährige Amara kam 2004 von der Elfenbeinküste nach Deutschland. Er arbeitet unter anderem als Übersetzer in der Notunterkunft Versöhnungskirche der Inneren Mission in Sebaldsbrück. Sein Ziel: verschiedene Kulturen kulinarisch näher zusammenzubringen.

Gemeinsam mit seinen Eltern und zwei Geschwistern flüchtete Mojeeb im Januar 2016 aus Afghanistan nach Deutschland. In Bremen hat die Familie endlich ein neues Zuhause gefunden. Sein deutsches Lieblingsessen: das Schwarzbrot.

Mit dem Ziel, das Heimatland seines Großvaters kennenzulernen, landete Tomás im August 2010 in Frankfurt. Obst gab es für den Argentinier in Deutschland damals noch nicht. Dafür Döner. Der kreative Allrounder arbeitet heute bei Bernstein und freut sich auf sein zweites Kind.

Zusammen mit seinem Bruder kam Safwan im November 2014 nach Bremen. Im Übergangswohnheim der Überseestadt lernte er seine Freundin Dagmara kennen. Heute arbeitet Safwan für die Innere Mission. Essen bedeutet für ihn Freude.

Amara Comara kam 2004 von der Elfenbeinküste nach Deutschland und hat seitdem die meiste Zeit in Bremen verbracht. Seine Eltern und seine Schwester leben nach wie vor an der Elfenbeinküste, sein Bruder wohnt heute in Hannover. Amara hat viel Kontakt mit seiner Familie und besucht sie regelmäßig. Der 35-Jährige arbeitet seit etwa einem Jahr in der Notunterkunft Versöhnungskirche der Inneren Mission in Sebaldsbrück. Dort ist er Übersetzer und kümmert sich um alle Belange, damit die Bewohner dort besser zurecht kommen.

Wie war Dein Start in Deutschland?

Zum Glück bin ich damals im Sommer nach Deutschland gekommen, da war es nicht ganz so kalt. Ich fühlte mich zunächst sehr allein, und die fremde Sprache und die fremde Kultur waren für mich das schwierigste.

Was gefällt dir in Deutschland besonders gut?

Es ist alles so grün, so viele Bäume, Pflanzen und Rasenflächen. Dazu kommt die Sicherheit, dass man sich hier frei und ohne Angst bewegen kann. Und mir gefällt das Gesundheitssystem: Man zahlt seinen Beitrag, kann einfach zum Arzt gehen, wenn man krank ist, und wird auch überall gut behandelt.

Was ist dein deutsches Lieblingsessen?

Ein wirkliches Lieblingsessen habe ich nicht. Ich habe bereits viel probiert: Aufläufe, Kartoffeln und Kartoffelsalat, Bratwurst, Rotkohl und Grünkohl. Es hat mir alles geschmeckt, aber es ist kein Lieblingsessen dabei.

Welche Tradition rund ums Essen kennst du aus Deiner Heimat?

Bei uns hat Essen eine große Bedeutung. Wenn wir einen Anlass zum Feiern haben, dann nutzen wir ihn auch, und kochen viele verschiedene Gerichte in großen Mengen. Zum Beispiel Kochbananen mit gegrilltem Fisch. Bei fast allen Gerichten ist Obst oder Gemüse dabei, ich esse sehr gerne Avocados und Kokosnüsse.

Was ist dein größter Wunsch?

Ich wünsche mir eine ausgeglichene Welt. Wenn es um Politik geht, aber auch in anderen Bereichen. Jeder sollte in Frieden leben und ausreichend zu essen haben.

Worauf bist du stolz?

Auf meine Familie. Auf meine Eltern und auf meine Geschwister.

Welches Ziel hast du?

Ich mag meine Arbeit, aber ich möchte gerne später Projekte organisieren und Rohstoffe aus Afrika nach Deutschland bringen und verarbeiten. Dadurch könnte ich dann vielleicht auch die verschiedenen Kulturen näher zusammen bringen. Kakao und Kaffee wird ja schon viel nach Deutschland exportiert, aber es gibt noch andere, weniger bekannte Produkte.

Den Reis nach Packungsangabe mit etwas Currypulver kochen. Die Zwiebeln schälen und fein hacken. Die Möhren schälen und in kleine Würfel schneiden. Den Fisch kalt abwaschen, trockentupfen und in ca. 2 cm große Stücke schneiden. Zwiebeln, Knoblauch und Möhren mit Tomatenmark und etwas Öl 20 Minuten köcheln lassen, bis die Möhren weich sind, dann die Erdnusscreme (mit 0,5 Liter Wasser vorverdünnen) dazugeben.

In einer zweiten Pfanne die Fischstücke in etwas Fett anbraten. Sauce und Fisch kräftig mit Salz, Cayennepfeffer und Pfeffer würzen.

Zutaten für 4 Personen:
  • 250 ml Erdnusscreme (mit
    möglichst hohem Erdnussanteil)
  • 2 Möhren
  • 2 mittelgroße Zwiebeln
  • 2 Knoblauchzehen
  • 250 g Seelachsfilet
  • 500 ml Wasser
  • 400 g Reis
  • 2 EL Pflanzenöl
  • 3 EL Tomatenmark
  • Currypulver
  • Caynennepfeffer
  • Salz und Pfeffer aus der Mühle

Das Mehl, frische Hefe, Salz, lauwarmes Wasser und das Rapsöl zu einem Teig verkneten. Den Teig bei Zimmertemperatur 60 Min. zugedeckt ruhen lassen.

Die Kartoffeln schälen und im Wasser mit 2 Teelöffel Salz kochen lassen. Danach die Kartoffeln abseihen und zerstampfen. Die Frühlingszwiebeln in Ringe schneiden und unter die zerstampften Kartoffeln mischen. Zu der Kartoffel-Frühlingszwiebel-Masse 2 Teelöffel Pfeffer und einen halben Teelöffel Kurkuma geben.

Den Teig in 8 bis 9 Teile portionieren. Jede Teigportion zu einem 20 bis 25 cm großen Teigkreis ausrollen. Etwas Füllung auf die Hälfte des Teigkreises geben, zusammenklappen und die Ränder mit einer Gabel festdrücken.

In einer großen Pfanne ausreichend Öl erhitzen und die gefüllten Teigtaschen einzeln darin frittieren. Die Teigtaschen beim Frittieren mehrfach wenden.

Zutaten für 4 Personen:
  • 550 g Mehl
  • 1 Würfel Frischhefe
  • 1 TL Salz
  • 250 ml Wasser, lauwarm
  • 5 EL Rapsöl

Für die Füllung:
  • 9 Kartoffeln
  • 10 Frühlingszwiebeln
  • 2 TL Pfeffer
  • 600 ml Rapsöl zum Frittieren
  • ½ Teelöffel Kurkuma

Mojeebs Vater Majid ist Apotheker, er hatte ein Geschäft in Kabul, die Familie besaß ein eigenes Haus und ein Auto. Doch genau deshalb fürchteten sie Überfälle und Kidnapping, zu viele Freunde und Bekannte hatten es bereits erlebt. Majid Hashimi, seine Frau Zottra und die Kinder Mojeeb, Zamzam (14) und Zahid (7) verkauften alles und flüchteten im Januar 2016 aus Afghanistan nach Deutschland. In Bremen hat die Familie im Herbst 2016 eine eigene Wohnung und damit ein neues Zuhause gefunden.

Was war dein erstes Erlebnis in Deutschland?

Kurz hinter der Grenze habe ich nach dem nächsten Bahnhof gefragt. Obwohl ich noch kein Deutsch konnte, habe ich in der Reaktion der Menschen so viel Ablehnung gespürt, sie wollten uns einfach nicht. Je besser ich Deutsch gelernt habe, desto offener wurden die Menschen uns gegenüber.

Was gefällt dir in Deutschland besonders gut?

Der sichere Schulweg für meine Geschwister und mich. Meine Schwester und ich fahren jeden Morgen mit der Straßenbahn von Tenever nach Walle. Es ist nicht wichtig, wie lange wir unterwegs sind. Wir sind einfach dankbar, dass wir nichts zu befürchten haben.

Was ist dein deutsches Lieblingsessen?

Ganz klar das Schwarzbrot, das ich morgens in der Brotbox mit zur Schule nehme. Außerdem mag ich gerne Hähnchenbrust, Kartoffelsalat und Pommes frites.

Welche Tradition rund ums Essen kennst du aus Afghanistan?

Am Ende der Woche kamen meine Onkel, Tanten, Cousins, Cousinen und Freunde bei uns zusammen, wir haben einfache Gerichte wie Bolani gekocht. Hauptsache, wir waren alle zusammen. Wir sind so froh, dass wir nun eine eigene Wohnung haben und meine Tante und meine Cousins zu uns einladen können, die in Hamburg leben. Darauf freue ich mich!

Was ist dein größter Wunsch?

Wir hoffen so sehr, dass wir in Deutschland bleiben dürfen. Ich kann mir einfach nicht vorstellen, zurück nach Kabul zu gehen und dort wieder mit der Angst zu leben. (Nachtrag der Redaktion: seine aktuelle Aufenthaltsgenehmigung gilt für die nächsten drei Jahre.)

Worauf bist du stolz?

Ich bin stolz auf meine Familie und mich, dass wir es gemeinsam geschafft haben und dass wir heute zusammen in Bremen leben.

Welches Ziel hast du?

Ich möchte später unbedingt bei der Polizei arbeiten, so wie mein Cousin in Hamburg. Indem ich mich für die Sicherheit einsetze, möchte ich Deutschland etwas zurückgeben.

Im August 2010 landete Tomás de Vries am Frankfurter Flughafen. „Mal sehen, wie lange mein Geld reicht“, war seine Devise, er wollte einfach das Heimatland seines Großvaters kennenlernen. Dieser war 1935 aus Ostfriesland nach Argentinien geflüchtet. Tomás sprach kein Deutsch, der Grafik-Designer bewarb sich mit seinen Arbeiten und landete schließlich in einer Hamburger Agentur. Auf dem Kiez lernte er Deutsch, seine Frau Rieke beim Couchsurfing in Bremen kennen und lieben. Heute arbeitet Tomás als kreativer Allrounder, wie er sich selbst nennt, bei Bernstein. Er lebt mit seiner Frau und Tochter Malena in Bremen und freut sich auf sein zweites Kind.

Wie war Dein Start in Deutschland?

Ich war fest davon überzeugt, dass es in Deutschland kein Obst gibt, und habe am Flughafen Frankfurt feierlich meine letzte Banane aus dem Rucksack geholt und gegessen. Kurz danach war ich doch sehr überrascht, wie viele verschiedene Obstsorten es gibt, manche kannte ich gar nicht.

Was gefällt dir in Deutschland besonders gut?

Es gibt ein recht starkes Gemeinschaftsgefühl, man denkt nicht nur für sich, sondern auch für andere. Das zeigt sich auch in der Politik: Die Bundesregierung besteht aus einer Koalition, das wäre in Argentinien undenkbar.

Was ist dein deutsches Lieblingsessen?

Döner.

Welche Tradition rund ums Essen kennst du aus Deiner Heimat?

In Argentinien wird abends immer warm gegessen, mittags gibt es nur einen Salat oder ein Sandwich. Das deutsche Abendbrot mag ich nicht. Meine Frau und ich kochen jeden Abend zusammen und nehmen uns Zeit zum Reden und Essen, das ist uns beiden sehr wichtig.

Was ist dein größter Wunsch?

Auch in Zukunft glücklich mit meiner Familie zu sein. Meine Eltern und Geschwister leben noch in Buenos Aires, wir besuchen uns gegenseitig, aber es wäre natürlich toll, wenn sie auch hier leben würden. Mein Bruder plant, nach seinem Studium nach Deutschland zu kommen.

Worauf bist du stolz?

Das ist gar nicht so leicht zu beantworten. Vielleicht ist „stolz“ nicht das passende Wort, aber ich freue mich sehr darüber, dass mich die Menschen hier so mögen, wie ich bin. Ich habe oft das Gefühl, dass es ein Geben und Nehmen ist, und das mag ich.

Welches Ziel hast du?

Ich möchte auf jeden Fall in Deutschland bleiben. Wir bekommen bald unser zweites Kind und ich würde gerne ein Haus für meine Familie und mich kaufen.

Mehl und Schmalz in eine Schüssel geben, gut durchkneten und dabei löffelweise Brühe dazugeben, bis sich eine feste Masse bildet. Anschließend Empanadas scheibenweise mit ca.15 cm Durchmesser ausstechen.

Fleischfüllung

Paprika und Zwiebeln kleinschneiden, das Schmalz in der Pfanne erhitzen. Rindergehacktes anbraten und Paprika und Zwiebeln untermengen. Wenn die Zwiebeln Farbe annehmen, mit Brühe, Salz, Oregano, Kümmel und Paprika kräftig würzen und aufkochen lassen. 12 Stunden erkalten lassen. Die hartgekochten Eier zerkleinern und mit den Oliven hinzufügen. Jede Empanadascheibe mit Füllung bestreichen. Rand mit kaltem Wasser bestreichen und durch Umklappen verschließen. Die Naht mit einer Gabel andrücken. Die Empanadas mit Eigelb bestreichen und im vorgeheizten Backofen bei 250° C ca. 20 Minuten goldbraun backen.

Zutaten für 20 Stück:
  • 750 g Mehl
  • 250 g Schmalz
  • Gemüsebrühe
  • 1 TL Salz
Für die Füllung:
  • 500 g Hackfleisch vom Rind
  • 1 rote Paprika
  • 2 rote Zwiebeln
  • 4 EL Schmalz
  • 1 EL Paprikapulver Edelsüß
  • 1 TL Salz, Oregano, Kümmel
  • 1 EL Mehl
  • ½ Tasse Oliven
  • 1 Kelle Brühe
  • 3 hartgekochte Eier

Die Auberginen der Länge nach aufschneiden, mit der Schnittfläche nach oben auf ein Backblech legen und im vorgeheizten Ofen bei 200° C ca. 30 Minuten garen, bis sie weich und dunkelbraun sind. Währenddessen Knoblauch, Basilikum und die Chilischoten pürieren. Die gebackenen Auberginen aus der Schale löffeln und mit dem Pürierstab oder im Mixer mit dem Knoblauch, Basilikum und den Chilis vermengen und in eine Schüssel geben. Zum Schluss Tahini, Zitronensaft und Salz unterrühren, mit Minze garnieren und mit Olivenöl beträufeln.

Frittierte Auberginen (Beilage)

Auberginen in etwa 0,5 cm dicke Scheiben schneiden. Eiweiß schaumig schlagen und mit etwas Speisestärke, Salz, Pfeffer und Kräutern vermengen. Öl in einer Pfanne erhitzen, die Auberginen zuerst in den Eischnee, danach in die Gewürzmischung tauchen und ein paar Minuten frittieren, bis sie goldbraun sind. Die gebackenen Auberginen auf einem Sieb oder Küchenpapier abtropfen lassen.

Zutaten für 4 Personen:
  • 4 Auberginen
  • 4 Knoblauchzehen
  • 10 g Basilikum
  • 2 grüne Chilischoten
  • 60 g Tahini
  • 4 EL Zitronensaft
  • 1 TL Salz
  • 1 Zweig Minze
  • 1 TL Olivenöl

Safwan Karkutli kam im November 2014 zusammen mit seinem Bruder nach Bremen, das Übergangswohnheim in der Überseestadt hatte gerade seine Türen geöffnet. Dort haben sich Safwan und seine Freundin Dagmara kennengelernt. Safwan hat für andere Bewohner aus dem Arabischen ins Englische übersetzt, Dagmara dann aus dem Englischen ins Deutsche. Im Februar 2015 ist Safwan in eine eigene Wohnung gezogen, heute arbeitet er für die Innere Mission als Betreuungshelfer und Kulturvermittler. Inzwischen leben Dagmara und Safwan zusammen, ihre Tochter Natalie ist im Juli 2016 geboren.

Was war dein erstes Erlebnis in Deutschland?

An meinem zweiten Tag in Bremen habe ich Dagmara getroffen. Sie hat im Übergangswohnheim für die Innere Mission gearbeitet. Wir mochten uns gleich und haben festgestellt, dass ich am 8. Dezember Geburtstag habe und sie am 9. Dezember. Zu unseren Geburtstagen haben wir uns für einen Spaziergang verabredet. Und dann haben wir uns ineinander verliebt.

Was gefällt dir in Deutschland besonders gut?

Bis 2011 hatten wir ein sicheres Leben in Syrien, danach änderte sich alles. Ich bin dankbar, dass wir hier in Deutschland in Sicherheit leben können und dass es hier Gesetze gibt, die respektiert werden. Das gibt einem wiederum Freiheit. Solange man sich an die Gesetze hält, kann man sagen und tun, was man möchte.

Was ist dein deutsches Lieblingsessen?

Wir haben mal in einem Restaurant Rindsrouladen, Kartoffeln und Rotkohl gegessen, das mochte ich richtig gerne. Brötchen dagegen mag ich überhaupt nicht.

Welche Tradition rund ums Essen kennst du aus Syrien?

Essen bedeutet für mich Freude. Ich mache mir gerne Gedanken ums Essen und was ich koche. Ich mag fast alle syrischen Gerichte, wir kochen viel mit Öl und Knoblauch. Am liebsten mag ich Gerichte mit Auberginen. Manchmal fallen mir das Rezept oder die Zutaten nicht ein – dann rufe ich meine Mutter in Damaskus an und frage sie danach.

Was ist dein größter Wunsch?

Ich wünsche mir einfach, dass ich mit Dagmara und unserer Tochter ein ganz normales, friedliches und sicheres Leben führen kann.

Worauf bist du stolz?

Ich bin stolz darauf, dass ich meine Alpträume überwunden habe und heute wieder fast ganz normal schlafen kann. Anfangs dachte ich, dass ich den Lärm der fallenden Bomben nachts nie wieder aus meinem Kopf bekomme. Aber ich habe es geschafft. Auch dank Dagmara kann ich wieder an ganz normale Sachen denken. Ich bin sehr glücklich, dass wir uns gefunden haben.

Welches Ziel hast du?

Ich habe in Damaskus Bauingenieurwesen studiert und anschließend als Ingenieur gearbeitet. Heute bin ich bei der Inneren Mission, auch dort arbeite ich gerne. Aber ich wünsche mir, dass ich eines Tages auch in Deutschland als Bauingenieur arbeiten kann.